APPA Announces Judging Panel For The 2020 APPA Awards

APPA Life Member Howard Jones will be joining the APPA Awards judging panel for 2020. Howard brings years of knowledge and experience to this year’s high-calibre panel of judges, which also includes marketing experts, academics and entrepeneurs.

(Pictured from left: Howard Jones, Andrew Bloom, Lynda Cavalera, Carla Bridge, Sérgio Brodsky and Simon Tebbutt)

Judging the 2020 APPA Awards will be:

Howard Jones, Sands Promotions (Managing Director)
Howard’s introduction to promotional products was via the souvenir route in the late 1970’s, where the company he worked for at the time had souvenir, gift and toy divisions.A move to John Sands’ Specialty Advertising in the early 1980’s consolidated Howard’s passion for branded merchandise and in 1986 he became a founding director of Sands Promotions. Howard was a founding director and past President of the Australasian Promotional Products Association.

Andrew Bloom, ASB Marketing (Managing Director)
After spending six years in the veterinary wholesale industry and moving around Australia, Andrew finally settled in Perth in 1992 and established ASB Marketing. The business now operates out both Perth and Sydney. ASB Marketing has been an APPA member for 25 years and has been accredited with an APPA Industry Distinction Award along with ten APPA Industry Awards. Andrew previously served on the APPA Board for five years (three of these as President).

Lynda Cavalera, Australian Marketing Institute (Chairperson) and Make-A-Wish Australia (Group Head, Partners & Supporters)
Lynda is a strategic, yet hands-on commercial, creative strategy and marketing professional with over 25 years’ experience across complex organisations in B2B and B2C markets. Lynda has strong skills across the full marketing discipline, including strategy, brand, customer experience, product, and integrated campaigns all underpinned with solid research, data and insights experience. With experience across banking, financial services, and education sectors, Lynda has a solid reputation as a results-orientated professional who is passionate about building amazing brands with compelling customer value propositions.

Carla Bridge, Shop! ANZ (General Manager)
Carla is General Manager of not-for-profit retail marketing association, Shop! ANZ (formerly POPAI). Shop! provides a range of membership services for retailer marketers in addition to the annual Marketing at Retail Awards. Carla has more than 15 years’ experience in the Australian retail and FMCG industries. Prior to her role at Shop! ANZ, she was Head of Media and Communications at the Australian Retailers Association (ARA).

Sérgio Brodsky, Surge (Founder) and RMIT University (Marketing Lecturer)
Sérgio is an internationally experienced marketing, media and innovation professional, Marketing Lecturer at RMIT, columnist and editorial board advisor for Marketing Magazine. As a brand strategist Sérgio led the global repositioning of HSBC, the rebrand of the Australia Grand Prix Corporation, the development of Heinemann Sydney Duty Free brand, the re-launch of MYOB, the overall brand strategy for AGL and most recently delivered a complete roadmap for the repositioning of Melbourne’s beating heart, Fed Square.

Simon Tebbutt, Ninth Wave Consulting (Founder and Owner)
Simon is the founder of Ninth Wave, a specialist retail consultancy bringing brands and retailers together. Simon has an expansive and experienced marketing background - from client to agency, United Kingdom to Australia, retail to financial services and FMCG, to now leading the Shopper Marketing discipline. A move to Australia in 2004 saw Simon tackle all marketing disciplines – advertising, digital, in-store and catalogue – at Publicis Mojo, BMF and finally at M&C Saatchi where he managed the Woolworths account. This is Simon’s fifth year as a judge of the APPA Awards.